nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
  1. Skip Navigation

Follow Us on LinkedIn

Welcome to the official website of the North Dakota Department of Financial Institutions.


The Department of Financial Institutions regulates a number of financial services providers through our three divisions. The Banking Division regulates state-chartered banks and independent trust companies. The Credit Union Division regulates state-chartered credit unions. The Consumer Division regulates Money Brokers, Mortgage Loan Originators, Deferred Presentment Service Providers (Payday Lenders), Collection Agencies, Debt Settlement Service Providers, and Money Transmitters.

Online License Application and Renewal System

This system is part of North Dakota's electronic government initiative. By applying for or renewing your license online you will be able to insure all the information we maintain in our files is accurate and up to date. In addition, applying for or renewing your license online will allow both your company and our agency to expedite the application process. All applicants for licensure are now required to submit their application through the NMLS, a nationwide multi-state licensing system. Please click on the logo below to access the NMLS licensing system.

Nationwide Mortgage License System Logo




Rules and Regulations

Click here for selected sections of the North Dakota Century Code and North Dakota Administrative Code that apply to North Dakota regulated financial institutions and financial corporations.

News and Alerts

Department Newsletter

Monthly Bulletin

 Get Adobe Acrobat Reader
Tested for W3C WAI AA Accessibility Tested for W3C Well-Formed XHTML Code Tested for W3C Well Formed Cascading Style Sheet Code